Chicken alfredo LCHF style! :)

Hey y’all 🙂 So yesterday was my first real day eating by the LCHF (low carb, high fat). LCHF basically means that you cut down on carbs, and try to avoid sugar. However you can eat loads of fish, eggs, meat, greens. So I started my morning with eating an omelet, with bacon, tomatoes etc. and for drinks? a coffee w. cream. I usually drink my coffee pitch-black, but I read on a “guide-line” about the LCHF that adding cream to your coffee, would a good idea! so I tried that 🙂 The guideline is here, sorry that it’s in Danish! https://www.dietdoctor.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/LCHF-for-begyndere2.pdf To the chicken alfredo 🙂 You need: Chicken breats – I used 2 1/2, but I’ve made enough for two times lunch. Butter – enough to brown the chicken Broccoli – as much as you want, cut it into smaller pieces. Cream – 1/2 L Parmesan cheese – a couple of handfuls 😉 2 egg yolks Garlic, onions – 2 onions and 1 clove garlic Mushrooms – 2 1/2 handfulls, cut it nicely 🙂 (I used a bit of port-wine too :)) First cut onions and the garlic, into small pieces, and put it on a large saucepan, with a bit of oil, and let it simmer – be careful that it doesn’t brown too much! Add butter, and let it melt and when it starts to bubble, add the chicken breast, nicely cut into moderate pieces. As I wanted to do this for lunch the next days too, I cut it into bite-sized pieces. Then you let the chicken brown, while doing that you can easily cut the mushrooms, because when the chicken has some not a whole lot, but some color, you add the mushrooms, remember that they contains a lot of water. Then you add the broccoli, and let it cook for about 5 min. Then you add the cream, and bring it to a boil, at this point a put in a tablespoon or two of port-wine. When the cream has reduced a bit, then you add two whipped egg yolks and some parmesan cheese. You are almost there 😉 let it simmer for about 5-7 min, or till it’s reduced to your liking!

If you aren’t following the LCHF, you can use pasta instead of broccoli, or you can mix it. And if you don’t know what to do with the egg-whites, that comes when separating the yolks, then come by here tomorrow, where I’ll be posting my https://gourmandeblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/04/banana-muffins-on-the-go-a-healthy-choice/

Published by

rikkelau

Within my family we have always loved food – no exceptions. In this house we live to wine & dine. Wether it’s Italian, the French cuisine, Asian or the Aussie’s BBQ’s, we all got a favourite dish. When I cook, I cook with my heart. On a daily basis I work as a lifeguard, swim coach and assistant consultant at accounting company, further more I’m studying at Aarhus University where I’m about to take a masters degree. As it might appear I’m fairly busy, but one thing will be sure, the food and recipes on this blog is coming directly from the heart!

Leave a Reply

